Ernest Gallo Clinic and Research Center       At the University of California, San Francisco
About Research & Faculty News Careers & Training Institute for Molecular Neuroscience NIAAA Center (ACTG) Contact Search
RESEARCH & FACULTY
Faculty (Principal Investigators)
Kevin Bender
Howard Fields
Ulrike Heberlein
Patricia Janak
Eric Jorgenson
Andrew Kayser
Robert O. Messing
Dorit Ron
Jennifer Whistler
Raymond L. White
Linda Wilbrecht

Preclinical Development

Selena Bartlett

Staff Research Investigators/
Associate Investigators
Frederic Ambroggi
Gregory O. Hjelmstad
Frederic "Woody" Hopf
Elyssa Margolis
Jun Wang
Core Facilities
Genomics Resources
Research Faculty

Selena Bartlett, PhD

Director of Preclinical Development, Gallo Center
Phone: (510) 985-3133
Email: selenab@gallo.ucsf.edu


Research

Most current therapies for alcohol and drug abuse are based on counseling and behavioral modification. These approaches help and are successful for some. To date, the FDA has approved only a handful of medications for alcohol abuse, and the effectiveness of these medications is limited. Dr. Bartlett has established and directs the Preclinical Development Group, which is focused on the translation of basic research discoveries into drugable targets and new treatments for neurological diseases such as addiction, pain, stress, anxiety, and depression. Dr. Bartlett's research has led to findings that suggest possible links between the neurochemical pathways for alcohol and nicotine dependence, and between addiction and compulsive eating.


Lab Members (Preclinical Development Group)

Jade Bito-Onon, Staff Research Associate, jbitoonon@gallo.ucsf.edu
Susmita Chatterjee, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, schatterjee@gallo.ucsf.edu
Allison Feduccia, PhD, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, afeduccia@gallo.ucsf.edu
Carolina Haass-Koffler, Postdoctoral Fellow, chaasskoffler@gallo.ucsf.edu
Andrea Henry, Staff Research Associate, ahenry@gallo.ucsf.edu
Joan Holgate, Specialist, jholgate@gallo.ucsf.edu
Rui Li, Research Student, rli@gallo.ucsf.edu
Douglas Mill, Research Student, dmill@gallo.ucsf.edu
Mohammed Naeemuddin, Senior Staff Research Associate, mnaeemuddin@gallo.ucsf.edu
Carsten Nielsen, PhD, Associate Research Scientist, cnielsen@gallo.ucsf.edu
Nathan Santos, Laboratory Assistant, nsantos@gallo.ucsf.edu
Jeffrey Simms, Manager of Preclinical Development, jsimms@gallo.ucsf.edu
Subhashini Srinivasan, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, ssrinivasan@gallo.ucsf.edu


Publications

Selena Bartlett's publications

CONTACT US
5858 Horton Street, Suite 200
Emeryville, CA 94608
Phone: (510) 985-3109

Clinical Studies l Webmail l Gallo Sequencing Consortium