Ernest Gallo Clinic and Research Center  


At the University of California, San Francisco
About Research & Investigators News Careers Institute for Molecular Neuroscience NIAAA Center (ACTG) Contact Search
GALLO INVESTIGATORS
Gallo Center
Emeryville CA

Andrew Kayser

University of California

Berkeley
Linda Wilbrecht

University of California

San Francisco
Mission Bay Campus
Kevin Bender
Robert Edwards
Howard Fields
Dorit Ron
Jennifer Whistler

San Francisco
VA Medical Center
Steven Batki
Joshua Woolley
Gallo Investigators
Howard Fields

Howard L. Fields, MD, PhD

Director of Human Clinical Research, Gallo Center
Professor of Neurology and Physiology, UCSF
Director, Wheeler Center for the Neurobiology of Addiction
Phone: (510) 985-3971
Email: hlf@gallo.ucsf.edu


Research

I have a major interest in motivational systems. Pain and pleasure are two important motivational forces that shape our behavior and help us to make informed decisions. I use an experimental approach in animals to analyze the circuits in the brain that mediate pain and reward. My interest in addiction is a natural outgrowth of my research on analgesic drugs, many of which are addicting. The studies of pain and reward are not as disparate as they might first appear. In fact, the relief of pain and the production of pleasure are closely related at both the subjective and neural circuit level. Both have strong influences upon, and are influenced by, learning. Current research in my laboratory utilizes in vivo and in vitro electrophysiology, pharmacology, and behavioral techniques. We are investigating the neural mechanisms underlying the acquisition and expression of reward-seeking and aversive behaviors.

Alcoholism: Vice or Disease?

Alcoholism: Vice or Disease? A Conversation with Howard Fields


Lab Members

Howard Fields' lab members

Daicia Allen, Staff Research Associate, dallen@gallo.ucsf.edu
Fred Ambroggi, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, fambroggi@gallo.ucsf.edu
Allison Coker, Graduate Student, acoker@gallo.ucsf.edu
Adam Ferris, Staff Research Associate, aferris@gallo.ucsf.edu
Peter Fong, Staff Research Associate, pfong@gallo.ucsf.edu
Gregory Hjelmstad, PhD, Associate Investigator, gregh@gallo.ucsf.edu
Elyssa Margolis, PhD, Assistant Research Scientist, elyssam@gallo.ucsf.edu
Douglas Mill, Laboratory Assistant, dmill@gallo.ucsf.edu
Jennifer Mitchell, PhD, Project Director, Clinical Studies, jmitchell@gallo.ucsf.edu
Chichen Qiu, Staff Research Associate, cqiu@gallo.ucsf.edu


Publications

Howard Fields' publications


CONTACT US
5858 Horton Street, Suite 200
Emeryville, CA 94608
Phone: (510) 985-3109

Clinical Studies l Webmail